SONY DSC

Chanel 563 Vertigo, around $25 USD in 2012

Kiko 515 Cioccolato Fondente Metallico (Metallic Plain Chocolate), around $4 USD now (and can often be had for 50% off)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

At one coat, directly above and below.  Chanel streaky and thin, Kiko opaque and thick (but not too thick).

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

At two coats, directly above and all remaining photos below.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Chanel evens out beautifully at two coats, but Kiko is still darker, nice opacity with a seemingly more visible and twinkly shimmer.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

As with a great many others, I’ve had this post on the backburner for eons.

I have a lone sheet of Italian marble paper in grayscale that I’ve long thought would be perfect as a backdrop to these two varnishes.

The only problem is, the marble paper lies as buried treasure under several layers of inspirational elements culled through the years, and I’m a lazy one with no inclination to shovel, now or then.

While flipping lazily through a sprawling 2005 issue of Vogue Italia this lazy Saturday, sprawled out in my lazy armchair, I homed in on the Custo Barcelona advert you see above.

Initially, I was focused on the colour of the furry hat.  As I was randomly placing the varnish bottles on the page, a public radio program was broadcasting a theme based on a Chinese saying, “no coincidence, no story”.

The coincidence here, and thus the story, turns out to be that the resulting images are indeed quite vertiginous, wouldn’t you say?

xx blueberry milk tea