Remember how four years ago ’round this season, we were scrambling for Chanel Mimosa?

71514Yellow6B2489Web

Photo by The Sartorialist, Mr. Scott Schuman.  Molto grazie!

Over here in California, I was planning on showing you some new greens.

By the time I finished arranging and rearranging all one zillion of them, however, I viscerally understood the meaning of the phrase, familiarity breeds contempt.

So I turned to a long-neglected basket of yellows for relief from my green weariness, thinking to organize and photograph them for sale somewhere, as a lot.

Instead, I very unexpectedly discovered a *new* colour crush.

I even went out to the varnish warehouse (my garage) and plucked up the few yellow bottles languishing there…

SONY DSC

Beginning at high noon, these are the colours (all, 2x) featured in the rest of the images:

1 – The Face Shop YL701

2 – NYC Mimosa Bouquet

3 – Sinful Colors Otaku Anime

4 – L.A. Girls Fruity Zesty Citrus

5 – SH CSM Mum’s the Word

6 – Revlon Colorstay Buttercup

7 – NARS x Pierre Hardy – Sharks Left

8 – American Apparel Butter

9 – SH Xtreme Wear Teeny Bikini

10 – SH CSM Yellow Kitty  (at 6:00)

11 – CQ Honey

12 – Sally Girl Banana

13 – H&M Rising Sun

14 – Sinful Colors Pull Over

15 – Sinful Colors Let’s Meet

16 – Essence C&G Little Miss Sunrise

17 – Essence Cherry Blossom Girl TE Fortune Cookie

18 – Catrice Yellow Sub-mandarin

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Sally Girl and H&M have shimmer; SC Pull Over does not…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

…but Sinful Colors Let’s Meet does.  Essence C&G is the only true crème in this batch.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SH CSM Mum’s the Word, farthest left above, had the smoothest formula and best coverage in two coats of all of these (could be because it’s the newest).

Because of Mum’s the Word, I skipped Dior Sunwashed.

I’ve used my P&J Summer 2015 Sangria as a sheer top coat over Mum’s the Word in lieu of Dior Tie Dye top coat over Sunwashed…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SH CSM Yellow Kitty was the first yellow varnish I had ever purchased, way back in 2010.

I remember having my eye on it as early as 2009, and I wasn’t even aware that Pantone had deemed Mimosa colour of the year for 2009.

Swatching it today was the first time I’ve opened the bottle, so it performed exceedingly well, all things considered!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

NYC Mimosa Bouquet is my favourite shade of this shimmery batch, but it’s not basking in the glow of the winner’s circle.

Streaky, patchy, sheer, in spite of its beautiful pale glimmer, which I thought would help matters along…

xx blueberry milk tea (cooling off with lemon tea in the sun’s rays)