I’ve had these two Polish Friends Forever under my hat for a long while now…

SONY DSC

Essence Effect Nail Polish 13 Laser Show

When I first bought this, I was like, ugh… what was I thinking? and planned to return it straightaway after doing this comparison.

Thankfully, the return period expired long ago due to my procrastination. 🙂

SONY DSC

Colorama Famosa Pop Up

S. in Sao Paulo kept hounding me about this one, even after I told her a resounding no several times.

In spite of the steep price, I’m so glad S. insisted on including this in my Summer 2014 varnish parcel.

SONY DSC

Although the base colours differ, both varnishes have a predominantly twinkly blue microshimmer in addition to the black dots…

SONY DSC

One coat each.

Obviously, Colorama has more black dots of varying size (the “spray effect”), but Essence has that pearly-silvery rainbow microshimmer, in addition to small silvery white glitter.

I can’t figure out why I didn’t like Laser Show initially.  I think when I opened the bottle, it seemed frosty and goopy upon first inspection…

SONY DSC

Such a pretty pair.

SONY DSC

Now up to two coats each.

SONY DSC

I was pleasantly surprised to spot the blue shimmer in Pop Up when she first arrived last summer.

I didn’t remember any blue shimmer in the online swatches or bottle shots I had seen.

SONY DSC

Here, a third coat added to Essence, but Colorama remains at two…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Again, Essence Laser Show 3x, Colorama Famosa Pop Up 2x

Keeping them both!  It’s love…

xx blueberry milk tea

Black and white background = Gran Larousse Eng-Span Span-Eng dictionary (remember those?), 1993 edition