x NL = for NL, a former co-worker with a most astute eye for colour.

NL used to compliment me on many of my own favourite nail varnishes (including NYC Late Night Latte and Chanel Beige!), always remarking on myriad aspects of colour shift and variation in our unkind industrial second floor + fluorescent lit environs.

In NYC Late Night Latte, NL even saw a bit of lavender in what at first blush is a mere uncomplex pinky-beige shimmery swirl. And I think she was amazingly accurate there.

I’ve only ever seen NYC LNL at Wal-Mart, which is where I bought her back in 2013. Every time I returned (not very often, due to being a WM loather), I fought off the impulse to purchase every bottle of this shade they had in the row, just to ensure I was never without it…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

OPI NL Y36 Swirl of Euphoria is a member of the Japan-only Yokohama collection and thus, virtually priceless.

Just for reference’s sake, I have purchased other members of the Yokohama collection and OPI Japan exclusives from between $20-40 USD.

I was lucky enough to be gifted with Swirl of Euphoria by an incredible MUAer, who had earlier come to my rescue with a bottle of Chanel Black Pearl (after yet another poor experience at a department store Chanel counter, I said, the heck with this… I’ll just swap for what I want.  And I did!).

I have used OPI Swirl of Euphoria once or twice, but I reach for NYC Late Night Latte more.

In my opinion, LNL has a friendlier formula and is also more subtly complex than Swirl of Euphoria.

If LNL is still out there on shelves, she is definitely worth braving a Wal-Mart to find and bring home with you, no matter how full your varnish coffers!

xx blueberry milk tea