Throughout the past Season 6, this particular corner of Don’s and Megan’s Manhattan entryway (including a pair of mid-century modern swag lamps, wallpaper and foliage) is shown quite often. As a still, however, I was only able to find this image, courtesy of mirrormirror.typepad.com.

Drapers' foyer

I find that stills don’t ever do justice to the images I see on screen.  I’ve gone back to these scenes again and again throughout each episode of Season 6, as I just adore the muted elegance of this corner of the Drapers’ foyer.

No Valentine, Mardi Gras or Chinese New Year-themed post just yet — I’ve been itching for a month now to attempt to mimic these tones in a manicure.  I tired out early and did a rather sloppy execution on three nails only after a thorough combing of my stash in an attempt to find varnishes that did not include any rainbow microshimmer or holographic glitter, quite a mean feat.

Essie Beyond Cozy would be perfect for this idea; unfortunately, I’ve had this varnish twice and given it away twice…

Next go-round, I’ll try this a different way with one of my Layla gold + silver shimmers, fewer taupes and no dark glitter (fungus or measles, not a good look!).  I just had to get it out of my system and experiment — here are the results of my playtime. 🙂

The blurry photo of the muted gold mini Zoya bottle (Severine) best illustrates the look I had in mind. 🙂

My varnish playmates:

Thumb, Colorama Pirlimpimpim (a real stunner, perfect in one coat but I used two. Much more flattering color for me + better formula than Chanel Quartz. If you miss the green shimmer in Quartz, just add an effect top coat!), Estessimo TiNS The Spicy Pinheel (I always thought this was a typo for Pinwheel, but I saw it translated the other day as Stiletto, which better suits the collection!) on very tips only, Maybelline Color Show LE Bronze Beam layered over TiNS.

Index, 2x OPI Designer De Better with Eliana Fashion Chrome Vibrancy dots. Dots completely unnecessary, but I was at play…

Last three fingers:

Base, Essie Tennis Corset

Flurry of dots:

Catrice SpectaculART LE Gold Leaf Top Coat
China Glaze The Giver LE Boundary of Memory (as gorgeous as this is, I need to omit it in my next attempt)
Colorama Nutriverniz Pirlimpimpim
Delicia No. 10
Eliana Fashion Chrome Vibrancy
Essence C&G 136 Love’s Recipe
Essie Show Me the Ring
Kiko Holographic 399 Silk Taupe
Maybelline Color Show LE Bronze Beam
OPI Designer De Better
Sally Hansen CSM Paparazzi
Wet n Wild LE Valet Tag
Zoya Pixie Dust Godiva
Zoya Severine mini

zou bisou bisou xx blueberry milk tea