SONY DSC

Chanel 565 Beige, $27 USD, purchased April 2013

L’Oreal Collection Privee 610 Eva’s Nude, $6 USD, purchased December 2013

Essie Congo Bongo, $5 USD, purchased at a dusty, Summer 2013

SONY DSC

Beige merits her own pedestal on a dedicated shrine in my varnish universe. She is an indefinable goddess of infinite beauty + pink flash thrown in for good measure.

SONY DSC

Coming from me, who loathes pink flash. But it’s also present in Essie Congo Bongo.

SONY DSC

See? Fen-fen! The base colour of these two is different in real life, but not as different as it appears in these images…

SONY DSC

Congo Bongo was obtained at a dusty. Maybe this is an ancient bottle, being black label and all, but it doesn’t hold a candle to Beige in formula and/or appearance on the nail. I used it for a manicure (intending to show it as a PFF to Beige before I commenced this RGPG series) and almost ran screaming from the building in the process. If possible, I would return it in a heartbeat for a whopping $5 refund.

SONY DSC

Eva’s Nude, on the other hand, is a subtle stunner. L’oreal hit it out of the park with this collection, in my opinion. I didn’t even wait for a sale or clearance period on these, so afraid was I to miss out on them. When the U.S. versions first appeared Stateside in December 2013, I grabbed them all.

SONY DSC

The base colour of Eva’s Nude is more similar to that of Beige than Congo Bongo’s is to Beige’s…

SONY DSC

…but Congo Bongo has similar pink flash to Beige, while Eva’s Nude has a dusting of rainbow microshimmer. Gorgeous to the nth power.

SONY DSC

Jaw-dropping gorgeousness in real life. Le sigh.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I receive so many compliments when I wear Beige, except from the Chanel counter ladies. They shun this one like the plague; they’re reluctant to even sell it to you. Really, I had to beg for it to be taken out of the drawer and over to the cash register…

xx blueberry milk tea $$