pezvela-logo

Above image courtesy of desigbarcelona.com.  Identity system for a beautifully designed restaurant…

Inspired to organization of my expansive collection of greys by one of my Spanish paperback compendiums listing, among many other proud facts, the flora and fauna indigenous to the Mexican republic. Actually, I had set up this color lineup the night prior, and by chance picked up my mini enciclopedia en rústica this lazy Sunday morning, savoring its content and fishing for a way to tie it into my other passion, nail varnish. This is the result of my imagination’s wanderings. 🙂

SONY DSC

Mini OPI NYC Ballet Sheers My Pointe Exactly, salvaged several times with thinner, since it keeps drying out on me!

Mini Icing by Claire’s, part of an unnamed quad set of sparkly cloudy blue-gray variations.  Should have been placed with this group.

Manzanillo Colima MX

Peces vela (sailfish) in the waters off Manzanillo, Colima, México.  Photo courtesy of corazondecolimatours.com.

SONY DSC

Risqué Silver Shine, gifted to me by S. in Sao Paulo after I had already purchased Bonita Dying to Party.  Dying to Party is from a Hallowe’en collection that was made available in early summer!  I had set it aside and meant to feature it for Hallowe’en, but I never got round to that project.  These two are likely PFFs; we will find out together when I swatch all greys in a subsequent post.  Beautiful shimmer in both; I wonder how close they are to YSL Gris Deco, which I refrain from purchasing due to owning this duo…

Tres delfines

Photo courtesy of peru21.pe.

SONY DSC

Cool dusty blue-greys:  Zoya Kristen, Paul & Joe 13 Koala Bear, Orly Boho Bonnet, Dior Junon 494

SONY DSC

Warmer bluegreen-greys (these differ in tone from the former category, especially in a lineup):  Color Club Sheer Disguise, China Glaze The Giver LE Intelligence Integrity & Courage, Urban Outfitters Barstool, Sally Hansen CSM Gray by Gray.

El cachalote

El cachalote, or sperm whale.  Photo courtesy of vamosabucear.com.

SONY DSC

Dusty blue-lavender leaning greys:  NARS Galathee, Zoya Carey, Essie Cocktail Bling, Misa Deep Breath

SONY DSC

The outlier duo:  NYC Sidewalkers, Zoya Geneviev.  These fit nowhere above or below, while still being definitively grey.  Inserted here to break up any monotony.  🙂

SONY DSC

Above and below, continuing with the blue-lavender leaning grays, darker on the spectrum now:

Bernhard Willhelm for Uslu Airlines SBT San Bernardino.  I recently purchased several Uslu Airlines varnishes and love each more than the last.  SBT is particularly special since I spent the first seventeen years of my life in San Bernardino.  Smog alerts are prevalent and were announced often throughout parochial school.  I was always under the youthful impression it was one word:  smoglert.

Nicole by OPI Keep Your Gray Job.  I braved Wal-Mart for this beauty.  In an aisle where every surface of the nail varnish displays and even the floor are splattered and painted a la Jackson Pollock, this bottle was pristine and unopened.

Maybelline Color Show Impeccable Greys.  Picked her up whilst at Wal-Mart, as well.

Zoya Kelly.  Ñam ñam.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Above and below:  Catrice Expect the Unexpected LE C02 Looking Greyt, Nina Ultra Pro Ink-ling, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Grease Lightning, Catrice How I Matt Your Mother, Rimmel Salon Pro Punk Rock

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Delfin1

Photo courtesy of mimundobajoelagua.blogspot.com.

SONY DSC

Cool cloud greys and stormy greys:

Maybelline Color Show LE Bare Escape, Kiko 329 Grigio Chiaro (Light Grey), Maybelline Color Show Audacious Asphalt, Sinful Colors Cool Gray

SONY DSC

Above and below:  Orly Mirror Mirror, Misa Working Hard or Hardly Working, SpaRitual Smoke & Mirrors, Charlotte Russe Concrete Jungle

Methinks Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Wet Cement might fit here also, but she’s been in the paint recycling bin in my garage ever since someone gifted her to me in a swap long ago.  I was late to the party as always re catching on to these varnish tones and thought Wet Cement a cruel joke, lol…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

El cachalote - logotipo

Cutest logo ever by Guilherme Silva, culled from logopond.com.

SONY DSC

Nails Inc. The Thames, L.A. Girl Color Pop Storm, Rimmel 60 Seconds Man Overboard, Impala Art Love Cinza Urbano

SONY DSC

Above and below:  Impala Art Love Cinza Urbano (cos she fits here too), Ginger + Liz Ricky’s NYC exclusive Grounded, mini anonymous Yves Rocher (loved dearly), Nature Republic BK006 Burnt Grey

SONY DSC

RUN_PezVela_Retol

The Catalonian restaurant signage.  If you like design, you can see more detail of the identity system on rundesign.net, where I borrowed the above image.  Love!

xx blueberry milk tea