I’m doing this series all out of order from how I had it organized mentally (since last Fall… yes, that would be Autumn 2013).  The raisons d’etre are below.  Some of these I just obtained yesterday, and they were so compelling I thought they should be bumped ahead in the image queue.  No swatches yet; they’re that new… I was busy instead trying to figure out what I had swatched last year this season, to be shown in ensuing chapters.  Behold!

SONY DSC

This varnish photographed so beautifully.  Rescue Beauty Lounge Piu Mosso, added to my collection last year, courtesy of an exchange with happyberrynaiad.  Hers was one of the first nail blogs I gravitated toward, and continue to do so. 🙂

SONY DSC

Piu Mosso’s gorgeous fiery shimmer doesn’t translate to the nail, or to the nail wheel, as you will see in Chapter 2 of this series.

SONY DSC

I’m still enormously pleased to have Piu Mosso in my collection.  Many thanks, Sherry!

SONY DSC

Then there’s this crazy train from China Glaze, from the All Aboard six-pack I ordered online, since I couldn’t find this in shops locally.

SONY DSC

China Glaze Choo-choo Choose You

SONY DSC

I was expecting a dark plum with gold microshimmer, and I received this gloriously beautiful multichrome instead.

SONY DSC

No complaints.  *This* varnish should be called OMG.  Its multichrome flash is different from the garden variety.  Seems to me the multichrome is all in the shimmer, whilst the base remains untouched.  O-M-G, China Glaze!

SONY DSC

Sinful Colors Winterberry, Anna Sui 226, China Glaze Choo-Choo Choose Me

SONY DSC

I had SC and Anna Sui pulled for last Fall’s shimmer swatching, but they aren’t on the corresponding wheel, for some reason.

SONY DSC

So we’ll put them here instead, and do a comparison shortly.

SONY DSC

OPI Gwen Stefani Holiday 2014 First Class Desires, OPI DS Mystery

SONY DSC

Gwen Stefani can do no wrong by me.  She and OPI hit it out of the park with this varnish, and the entire Holiday 2014 collection, for that matter.

SONY DSC

I likely am not the only one wondering how First Class Desires compares to the disappointing-on-the-nail DS Mystery.  We’ll find out together in Chapter 3 of this series.

SONY DSC

First Class Desires’ base is lighter than DS Mystery’s, and the shimmer is finer and more copious.  Just feast your eyes on that stunner!

SONY DSC

*Groan*

SONY DSC

Last but not least, the coveted Sinful Shine Prosecco.

SONY DSC

I found this by sheer accident at the drugstore last weekend; I had given up on ever finding her long ago.

SONY DSC

Sinful Shine Prosecco instantly brought to mind the taupe-with-shimmer varnishes I had lined up last year for the autumnal shimmer series.

I will show those to you in Chapter 2, and will do a comparison with Prosecco in Chapter 3.

xx blueberry milk tea