I spied the most beautiful glossy saturated raspberry gel varnish at the drugstore the other day, in a new Cover Girl display for summer. It didn’t come home with me as there was no price tag, no sale going on and I’m sure it was expensive (that brand charges top dollar for their varnishes, really). But oh how I’ve been dreaming of toes lacquered in that colour! Which obviously, I already have several versions of, after mustering up sufficient energy to check my drawers…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Each one is beautiful, much less dusty and muted than you see here.  Bright, deep, rich berries, all.

L to R, 2x :

American Apparel Lipstick – brightest and blue-reddest leaning of all

Catrice Fabulous 40ties LE C01 Red Butler – dustier than AA Lipstick (without being at all dusty ad hoc) and also leans more berry-toned

Sinful Colors Berry Charm – perfect deep berry gorgeousness sans often thin and runny SC formula

Chanel Lotus Rouge – darker and redder than SC but very blue so still belongs with this bunch

Barry M Raspberry – perfection; this is a marriage between SC and Chanel Lotus Rouge

Nails Inc. Kensington High Street – my favourite (or perhaps a tie between this and Barry M).  Nowhere near wine-y or blackened red as it appears in these photos.  This varnish is as deep as I remember the Cover Girl being in the drugstore, whilst being my new preferred brand, so I scooped this up as soon as I spotted it in the display yesterday.  Definitely dark raspberry with no brown tones a la Vamp, Rouge Noir, Vixen, Naughty or any shades in that bunch.  Lots and lots of blue here, unfortunately it’s just not as present in my images…

xx (rasp)berry milk tea