SONY DSC

Skin Food, Stonestown Galleria, San Francisco, California.  In SF and several neighboring counties, one must either pay for a non-plastic bag or bring your own.  This tiny brown paper bag was gratis, but it was filled to bursting with everything I had purchased, including samples…

SONY DSC

L to R:  Skin Food Nail Vita PK210, BR607, BR608, BR609.  I might already own two of these, but they looked so attractive and sparkly under the shop lights that I willingly shelled out $3USD per bottle all over again…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

PK210, BR607 1x each

SONY DSC

BR608, BR609 1x each

SONY DSC

L to R:  PK210, BR607; BR608, BR609 2x each

SONY DSC

Skin Food Milk Creamy Nail Top Coat, Base Coat BE002, PK005, PK001. $5 USD each

SONY DSC

L to R:  PK005, Base Coat BE002; PK001, Base Coat BE002 1x each

SONY DSC

L to R:  PK005, PK005 over Base Coat BE002; PK001, PK001 over Base Coat BE002 1x each

SONY DSC

L to R:  PK005, PK005 over Base Coat BE002; PK001, PK001 over Base Coat BE002 2x for color + 1x top coat.

I really would have preferred to buy other colors in lieu of a base and top coat, but after swatching PK005 on my thumbnail in-store as seen above, there was a distinct color difference with base coat BE002 as underwear.  Since I didn’t know if my top coats at home (or base coats, for that matter) would play nice with Skin Food, I decided to bite the bullet.  I already have a mental shopping list for my next Skin Food visit, which includes the baby blue and mint green Milk Creamy Nail, among many other color cosmetics for the face.

The sales associate duo was wonderful, absolutely wonderful this visit, polar opposite of my first visit (different staff).  They were knowledgeable and helpful without hovering, even if one never left my side.  I chose to brave Skin Food this springtime Saturday shopping day trip in lieu of The Face Shop (Japan Center, San Francisco) due to having a terrible SA experience at TFS during my last visit, which I rewarded by not making a purchase at all…

Yours in color, and happy Spring!

xx blueberry milk tea

EDIT:  Please note that I was directed to the wrong bottle of varnish as the Milk Creamy Nail Base Coat.  BE002 is its own shade, deemed Coconut on the Skin Food website.  No wonder it was thick, opaque and took so long to dry… apologies for any confusion.  Accept this mistake as a caveat to pay strict attention whilst making selections in a Skin Food shop; the products are often improperly merchandised.  A lip pencil tester had the wrong cap (#4), the side of the pencil bore the actual shade I wanted (#3), so after purchasing #3, I opened the shrinkwrapped collar to make sure I had the correct one, as the numbered colors on the cap tips look nothing like the shade inside.  Of course, this is only problematic if one doesn’t read Korean… 🙂