SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

U.S. Elle Décor No. 202, January/February 2014. This feature is a refrito
that was published last year in a prior issue of British Elle Décor.

SONY DSC

Now, which “white” to choose? Rimmel 60 Seconds Alaska, OPI My Vampire is Buff, OPI Matched Luggage (black label)…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

…or OPI Don’t Touch My Tutu!, Risqué Rendinha, Risqué Ninfa?

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

RBL Anne; an on-the-verge-of-explosion bottle of Essie Armed & Ready (due to being doctored up by me whilst yearning for Anne).

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

OPI Uh Oh Roll Down the Window, Catrice Sir! Yes Sir!, Nails Inc. Foubert’s Place. Obviously, I could not take enough visuals of this trio.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

On the bluer side of gray-green: Zoya Evvie, Catrice Expect the Unexpected LE Spruced Up!, Sinful Colors In the Mist. The southern afternoon sun of the first day of 2014 hijacked my attempts to obtain decent images of these bottles. They are more saturated, less dusty than they appear here.

2014-01-01 22.43.52

You are no doubt well aware of our eclecticism ’round here at the café — Islamic inspiration illuminated (scarcely) by a pagan symbol of a Christian holiday! This is (sadly) the only poor image I could capture with my phone before destruction ensued…

Sigh. I had first attempted stamping with a geometric design, then accenting that design with holographic diamond shapes from one of the Essence Vintage District TE nail decoration kits. Rotund fail. So I opted for the cuter, relatively simpler route a la Hokuri and Mitoca Nail of unevenly scalloping with four different green-gray varnishes per nail. I ended up alternating Catrice Spruced Up!, RBL Anne, OPI Uh Oh Roll Down the Window and Essie Armed & Ready (doctored version) over Rimmel 60 Seconds Alaska (this ended up leaning rosier than I had intended), with a few scattered holographic diamond shapes on each nail.

The inspiration is still there; the execution, however, needs lots of improvement. This manicure was ruined almost immediately by topcoat smearing the green-gray on one nail and migrating/missing-in-action diamond shapes. But it was SO charming, and more work than I’m used to, so I left it on for a few days, albeit in rather tattered shape.

May you enjoy the sweetest new year with all of the sensory delight North Africa has to offer!

xx blueberry milk tea (make that mint tea)

Bousadh!