“The day after” photos taken in lowlight. I heart these even more than I did last night, and recant my testimony re the lack of multichrome in the Bourjois mini bottle. It’s there, very subtly. See how smooth and silk-sparkly the formulae are on this trio? No brassy metallics here! Feast:

Peridot #1

Peridot #2

Peridot #3

Peridot #4

Peridot #1

I initially considered these footnote updates to the multichrome comparison library to be a humdrum chore, something that should be done only due to the popularity of the aforementioned library. I still have so many volumes of comparisons to add that it seemed almost regressive to add footnotes, especially since multichromes have lost much of their appeal to me. But carry on I will, and with gusto — the trio you are about to view really changed my attitude toward providing an update to my introductory post on blueberry milk tea, here.

Peridot #2

I began swatching Maybelline Color Show 715 Boho Gold first, since I obtained it first among the trio, probably last year around this time. I was expecting a Catrice Genius in the Bottle copper penny lookalike, due to a similar fiery warmth, and wasn’t too excited about this shade, merely wanting to get it out of the way so I could move on to the others. Color Show should be called Color Sheer, as these seem to take forever to build to opacity. Boho Gold was no different, but the journey was much more interesting than anticipated. With the first passes of the brush, I noticed a really neat dark blue wash under the chrome-y coppery shimmer. None of my other multichromes has had that. By the time I had arrived to bottle color, I was enamored. This is not Péridot, it’s better, in my opinion.

Peridot #3

Bourjois 87 Fashion Show a New York is just…nice. I’m glad I have it, although that crimp in the shrink-wrapped peel-off label irritates me. It has all of the problems that come with minis due to their size, with the redeeming quality of Bourjois’ always lovely formula. This one is pretty, but I spot next to no multichrome on the nail wheel, just a hazy blue ring when the base of the tiny bottle is viewed upside down.

Peridot #4

Finger Paints Bombshell is all that — wow. When I purchased this a few weeks ago at Sally Beauty, it was at a discount with another lovely shade from the same collection. I have no buyer’s remorse regarding either. I must say, here we saved the best for last. LOVE this. It even has facets of warm rose pink at some angles, and an utterly beguiling even, smooth, sparkly formula that saves it from that undesirable brushstroke-y hyperchrome metallicitis overload. This is a must-have, mesdames. Cannot sing high enough praises for this one. GORGEOUS!

xo burnished and smitten blueberry milk tea (guess I’m not over multichromes just yet…)