Leader of the pack:  NOPI Modern Family Am I Making Myself Claire?

Leader of the pack: NOPI Modern Family Am I Making Myself Claire?

L to R:  Steady As She Rose, Am I Making Myself Claire?, Hang Loose

L to R: Steady As She Rose, Am I Making Myself Claire?, Hang Loose

L to R:  Steady As She Rose, Am I Making Myself Claire?, Hang Loose, Panda-monium Pink, Little Girl Type

L to R: Steady As She Rose, Am I Making Myself Claire?, Hang Loose, Panda-Monium Pink, Little Girl Type

Due to economic constraints, I’m not able to indulge my nail varnish habit as often as I would like of late, so I must be ultra-selective with my edits whilst scanning the collections in the shops. Nicole by OPI Am I Making Myself Claire? has caught my eye ever since the Modern Family collection was released about a month ago, to the extent that my initial intent after purchase last weekend was to devote a post solely to her.

Until I opened my drawer and immediately spotted some potential Polish Friends Forever!

I usually include a post in the PFF Series if there are just a few lookalike members, in lieu of an abundant group comparison. This batch was initially triplets (second photo), grew to a clique of several (third photo), then morphed into a veritable army, all variations on the dusty lilac to grey-with-a-drop-or-more-of-lavender spectrum.

Have a look!

This is what I'm talking about!

This is what I’m talking about!

Panda-monium Pink, Little Girl Type

Panda-monium Pink, Little Girl Type

Getting brighter:  Panda-monium Pink, Little Girl Type, Miley

Getting brighter: Panda-monium Pink, Little Girl Type, Miley

Miley, Ballerina's Charm, Rumple's Wiggin'

Miley, Ballerina’s Charm, Rumple’s Wiggin’

Dusty Lilacs #8

L to R: Sing: Hey, Dirty-Lilah!, It’s A Snow Woman’s World, Carey

Dusty Lilacs #7

L to R: Mauve, Nude or What?, Greige Gardens

SONY DSC

L to R:

1 – OPI Steady As She Rose – a touch pinker than Claire, with a thinner formula, but these first three are still Polish Friends Forever…

2 – NOPI Am I Making Myself Claire? – I could dispose of my thousand-bottle collection for this… exactly in between OPI SASR and ESBHL in dusty creamy lilac yum. Could be a one-coater. Beautiful application.

3 – Essence Surfer Babe Hang Loose – Exact twin to Claire in the bottle, slightly more lilac on the nail wheel. VERY slight difference. If I were forced due to economic circumstance to forgo/return Claire, this would be my go-to.

4 – OPI Panda-monium Pink

5 – MAC Little Girl Type – more saturated yet whited out lilac

6 – Zoya Miley – a whispery lavender sheer jelly formula

7 – Essence Colour & Go Ballerina’s Charm – darker, duskier greyed lilac-lavender with ultrafine multicolored silvery shimmer

8 – OPI Rumple’s Wiggin – brighter, even more saturated version of MAC LGT

9 – Catrice Sing: Hey, Dirty-Lilah! – light grey with a drop of lavender and ultrafine silvery rainbow microshimmer

10 – Essence Crystalliced It’s A Snow Woman’s World – grey lavender with subtle pink-blue-purple flash

11 – Zoya Carey – Did I buy this?  Just looks grey with an iota of lavender…

12 – Sinful Colors Mauve – a misnomer.  Very saturated whited out lavender grey.

13 – Essence Season of Extremes Nude or What?  – another misnomer, more egregious than SC.  Similar to Zoya Carey, a few shades deeper, with a lot more lavender.

14 – Sally Hansen CSM Greige Gardens – I always thought this leaned very lavender under fluorescent shop lighting, but on the nail wheel, it’s dark greige with lots of lavender.

Still with me? Yes, this is quite a spectrum, but what beauty, no? I remember craning my neck on Hallowe’en night last year to gaze up at the skeletal silhouettes of the witchy leaning trees in my forest of a neighborhood, and yearning ever since for a nail lacquer to mimic the shade of that dusky sky… not quite lavender, grey, mauve, lilac… at the time I thought Catrice Dirty Lilah was my girl, but no — this NOPI Claire is my muse for that vision. Better late than never, right?

xo blueberry milk tea

P.S.  Lilac = leaning red-pink; lavender = leaning blue-purple.  All of these photos are unfortunately more lavender-toned than what my blue eyes [with their rose-colored glasses] see in real life…